“Tent of David” by Boaz Michael: An Inside Job

“Tent of David” by Boaz Michael: An Inside Job

"Tent of David" by Boaz Michael

“Tent of David” by Boaz Michael

I’ve just received my copy of “Tent of David” by Boaz Michael and find it absolutely true to form. Having lived in the “in-between space” of being a Messianic Gentile[1] for some 20 years now, I find the strategic mission laid out in this book — “a majestic vision for the reformation of Christianity” —  to be the right mission at the right time in history: a mission of edification-and-encouragement-from-within rather than of opposition-and-disgruntlement-from without.

The region of upstate NY where I live is hardly cosmopolitan and my Messianic perspective was first seen as if originating on Mars; to some, as an invasion from Mars. Now, after fifteen years of fellowship in two local churches, having started out by organizing large group Passover seders within the Roman Catholic community, then establishing an ongoing Torah Club study group at an understanding local evangelical Christian church, which led to that church hosting First Fruits of Zion’s HaYesod program, [2] I am blessed and honored to now be welcomed within both the evangelical and Roman Catholic communities and have, in the past, even engaged the Reform Jewish community in joint education and celebration activities.

My approach is “educational,” not “evangelical” when it comes to sharing my “non-traditional” approach to Christianity. Even with my Messianic way of life now a well-known fact in these parts, I have been entrusted to teach the region’s Christian youth at a local Christian high school because leadership here knows that my focus is Jesus, not Judaism; that it’s about a Yeshua-based approach to life that expresses itself in a  Jewish way, not the other way around. Itmishkahn-david builds confidence in my fellow believing Christian friends to know that to follow Jesus in the manner that He led is decidedly about relationship, not religion; that it’s about “Jesus” as “Yeshua,” not “Jesus” vs. “Yeshua,” so to speak.

And so it is that my personal experience is just as Boaz Michael teaches: the positive transformation of the Church is “an inside job” requiring Messianic Gentiles who know their place in God’s greater plan of redemption — and who feel honored and privileged to fulfill that role — to first be transformed into an enriching asset that the church appreciates, while refusing to become an adversarial axe that grinds the church down. Christianity is good. The church is good. Our role as Messianic believers grafted in to Israel is to build it up, not tear it down. As Messiah teaches:

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” (John 13:34-35 ESV)

As the Holy Spirit invades a life and changes it from the inside-out, so it is as Boaz Michael teaches concerning this rejuvenative mission of love… it’s an inside job.


[1] a believer of non-Jewish ethnicity who’s approach to faith is more Jewish than traditionally Christian

[2] a complete discipleship course that respectfully explores the Jewish foundation of Christianity. Comprehensive workbooks, lesson guides, and additional supplementary materials make this program one of the most well-rounded and comprehensive studies of this area of biblical studies.

2 comments on ““Tent of David” by Boaz Michael: An Inside Job

  1. James says:

    Although you didn’t go into much detail about the contents of the book, I think you managed to capture the essential vision of what Boaz is trying to communicate, one of rejuvenation, and may I add, reconciliation and restoration.

    As many times as you’ve been to my blog, I figured it was about time I visit your’s. Blessings.

    Like

    • Dan Hennessy says:

      It is a great blessing to have you visit, James. I’m getting much from Morning Meditations of late… discussing TOD and “the Jewish-Gentile Dilemma,” so to speak, within Messianic Judaism is tremendously strengthening and edifying to me right now. And, I must say, I am encouraged and edified by your great, seemingly infinite patience and magnanimous way with those more argumentative than yourself! You set a great example – and enact a good witness – in that regard. “Jacob’s Relief” is undergoing a self-discovery process right now… I’ve used it as an outlet for my newspaper column and am moving more in a direction of personal reflection as concerns the Gentile mission (Isaiah 56, etc.) within the commonwealth, with special attention paid to my life’s passion: being a Holocaust-educator activist. Thanks for visiting, you made my day… Shabbat shalom to you and yours…

      Like

Leave a Reply

